Southeast Missouri State University

Faculty Member

Maija Bluma, M. D.

Instructor of Biology and Microbiology Technician

mbluma@semo.edu
(573) 651-2385
http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/bluma
Office: Rhodes Hall 312

Teaches: Microbiology, Pathogenic Microbiology Laboratory
Research: Human body and the effect of raw food on human health.

Faculty Member

Allan J. Bornstein, Ph. D.

Professor of Biology

abornstein@semo.edu
(573) 651-2363
http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/bornstein/home/index.htm
Office: Rhodes Hall 209

Teaches: Systematic Botany, Field Botany, Native Aquatic Plants
Research: Floristics; Taxonomy and evolutionary relationships of neotropical pipers
Advises: Organismal, Ecological and Evolutionary Biology; Wildlife and Conservation Biology

Faculty Member

Marilyn Burleson

Instructor of Biology

mlburleson@semo.edu
(573) 276-4577

Teaches: Anatomy and Physiology; Microbiology

Faculty Member

James Champine, Ph. D.

Professor/Chairman of Biology

jchampine@semo.edu
(573) 651-2171
http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/champine
Office: Rhodes Hall 224 A

Teaches: Microbiology, Microbial Physiology
Research: Environmental microbiology; Antibiotic resistance in environmental bacteria; Lead tolerance; Antifolate antimicrobials
Advises: Biomedical Sciences; Pre-Med; Microbiology, Cellular and Molecular Biology

Faculty Member

Jon Davenport, Ph. D.

Assistant Professor of Biology

jdavenport@semo.edu
(573) 651-2366
Office: Rhodes Hall 202

Teaches: Management of Wildlife Habitat; Conservation Biology; Ecology and Management of Wetlands
Research: Aquatic ecology using amphibian models
Advises: Wildlife and Conservation Biology

Faculty Member

Allen C. Gathman, Ph. D.

Professor of Biology; Associate Dean of Online Learning

agathman@semo.edu
(573) 651-2298
http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/gathman
Office: Kent Library 305

Faculty Member

Vicki Howell

Senior Administrative Assistant

vhowell@semo.edu
(573) 651-2170
Office: Rhodes Hall 224

Faculty Member

Timothy Judd, Ph. D.

Professor of Biology

tjudd@semo.edu
(573) 651-2365
http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/tjudd
Office: Rhodes Hall 225

Teaches: Entomology; Animal Behavior; Invertebrate Zoology
Research: Animal behavior; Invertebrate biology; Nutritional ecology and behavior of eusocial animals.
Advises: Organismal, Ecological and Evolutionary Biology; Marine Biology

Faculty Member

John Kraemer, Ph. D.

Professor/Director of Environmental Science; CEO, Institute for Environmental Health Assessment & Patient Centered Outcomes

jkraemer@semo.edu
(573) 651-2355
http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/kraemer
Office: Rhodes Hall 107 C

Teaches: Risk Assessment; Industrial Hygiene; Emergency Management
Research: Public health, asthma, indoor air, pesticide exposures
Advises: Pre-Dental; Pre-Optometry; Pre-Chiropractic; Biomedical Sciences

Faculty Member

Rebeccah Kurzhals, Ph. D.

Assistant Professor of Biology

rkurzhals@semo.edu
(573) 651-2361
Office: Rhodes Hall 218

Teaches: Genetics; Molecular Biological Investigations
Research: Drosophila genetics, telomeres, genome stability, chromatin structure and function, DNA damage response
Advises: Microbiology, Cellular and Molecular Biology; Biomedical Sciences; Pre-Med

Faculty Member

Walt Lilly, Ph. D.

Professor of Biology

wlilly@semo.edu
(573) 651-2359
http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/wlilly/
Office: Rhodes Hall 219

Teaches: Cell Biology; Problems in cell and molecular biology; Bioinformatics
Research: Fungal biochemistry/molecular biology/genomics; Protease biochemistry; regulation of protein turnover and proteolytic activity at the molecular level
Advises: Biomedical Sciences; Pre-Med; Microbiology, Cellular and Molecular Biology

Faculty Member

Shannon McNew

Instructor

smcnew@semo.edu
(573) 986-4920
http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/mcnew
Office: Rhodes Hall 224 C

Teaches: Anatomy and Physiology; Microbiology
Advises: Biomedical Sciences; Pre-Med

Faculty Member

Stephen R. Overmann, Ph. D.

Associate Professor of Biology

srovermann@semo.edu
(573) 651-2386
http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/srovermann/sro/
Office: Rhodes Hall 107 A

Teaches: Intro to Toxicology; Wildlife Toxicology
Research: Wildlife toxicology; Effects of environmental toxicants on terrestrial vertebrates
Advises: Environmental Science

Faculty Member

Jim Robins, Ph. D.

Instructor

jhrobins@semo.edu
(573) 986-6729
http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/jhrobins
Office: Rhodes Hall 308

Teaches: Anatomy and Physiology; Microbiology

Faculty Member

John S. Scheibe, Ph. D.

Professor of Biology

jscheibe@semo.edu
(573) 651-2379
http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/jscheibe/
Office: Magill Hall 125

Teaches: Mammalogy; Herpetology; Vertebrate Adaptations; Comparative Anatomy
Research: Population biology; Ecological modeling; mammalogy; herpetology; Evolution of form and function in gliding mammals
Advises: Organismal, Ecological and Evolutionary Biology

Faculty Member

Dustin S. Siegel, Ph. D.

Assistant Professor

dsiegel@semo.edu
(573) 651-2262
http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/dsiegel
Office: Rhodes Hall 228

Teaches: Animal Physiology; Histology
Research: Herpetology; Histology; Electron Microscopy; Reproductive Biology; The evolution of reproductive structure and function in amphibians and reptiles
Advises: Organismal, Ecological and Evolutionary Biology; Biomedical Sciences; Pre-Med

Faculty Member

Lucinda Swatzell, Ph. D.

Professor of Biology

lswatzell@semo.edu
(573) 651-2358
http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/swatzell
Office: Rhodes Hall 213

Teaches: Ethnobotany; Plant Physiology
Research: Plant cell physiology and development; Water balance in Cheilanthes gametophytes and in early stages of developing Gossypium fibers; Thalia dealbata development and distribution in marginally aquatic habitat
Advises: Microbiology, Cellular and Molecular Biology

Faculty Member

Michael S. Taylor, Ph. D.

Associate Professor of Biology

mtaylor@semo.edu
(573) 651-2357
http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/mtaylor
Office: Rhodes Hall 217

Teaches: Marine Biology; Ichthyology; Biogeography; Evolution
Research: Biology of fishes; Marine biology; Phylogenetic systematics; Population genetics; Evolutionary biology; Molecular evolution
Advises: Marine Biology; Organismal, Ecological and Evolutionary Biology

Faculty Member

Margaret A. Waterman, Ph. D.

Professor of Biology

mwaterman@semo.edu
(573) 651-2381
http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/waterman
Office: Rhodes Hall 205

Teaches: Analysis of Biological Issues; Techniques of Teaching Science; Biological Sciences: A Process Approach
Research: Science teaching and learning using cases and computer simulations for investigations; Undergraduate science education
Advises: Biological Education; Unified Biological Education

Faculty Member

Diane Wood, Ph. D.

Professor of Biology

dwood@semo.edu
(573) 651-2364
http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/wood
Office: Rhodes Hall 206

Teaches: Anatomy and Physiology; Ecology; Aquatic Entomology; Freshwater Ecology
Research: Aquatic and terrestrial insect ecology
Advises: Pre-Physician Assistant; Organismal, Ecological and Evolutionary Biology

APPLY VISIT DONATE