The Department of Communication Studies hosts an annual student awards ceremony/luncheon near the end of each spring semester. Awards are typically presented in the following categories:

Communication Studies:

  • Horizon Award in Communication Studies 
  • Outstanding Graduate Award in Communication Studies
  • Outstanding Debater Award

Corporate Communication:

  • Horizon Award in Corporate Communication
  • Outstandging Graduate Award in Corporate Communication

The M.G. Lorberg Medal:

  • In honor of M.G. Lorberg, Department Chair from 1967-1987. This award goes to a student for excellence in academic performance as well as service to the department. In other words, we recognize a student's good work and good citizenship.


Academic Hall 213

Communication Studies
One University Plaza, MS 3225
Cape Girardeau, Missouri 63701