LIX No. 1 Faculty Senate Minutes April 24, 2024

The Faculty Senate of Southeast Missouri State University met on Wednesday, April 24, 2024, in the Redhawks Room of the University Center. The following Senators were present: Michael Aide, Michael Bezushko Larry Bohannon, Christopher Bradley, Eric Clements, Jenny Cropp (Chair), Corrie Dudley, Erin Fluegge, Pam Gershuny, Barbara Lamont, Haley Love, Kelly McEnerney, Jenna Moore (Chair-Elect), Joe Murphy, Josh Newth, Tomoaki Nomi, Kyle Schneider, Robin Smith, Mike Taylor, Misty Tilmon, and David Yaskewich. Provost Mike Godard and SGA representative Jonah McGuire were present. The following alternates were present: William McNeary. The following proxies were present: Juefei Yuan. Sophia Scott was not present or represented by an alternate.

Chair Cropp called the meeting to order at 4:01 p.m. and welcomed everyone to the 59th session. She asked everyone to introduce themselves. Chair Cropp then opened the floor for nominations for Chair-Elect. Senator Love nominated Senator Moore for Chair-Elect. She accepted the nomination. A secret ballot vote was held, and Senator Moore was unanimously elected.

Up next, the membership committee and membership committee chair elections were held. At the conclusion of the voting for the membership committee, newly elected members went outside and voted on the membership chair. Senator Murphy was selected as membership chair. Senator Taylor agreed to be parliamentarian. New membership committee members are: Eric Clements (HSS), Hayley Love (EHHS), Michael Bezushko (Kent), Pamela Gershuny (HCBC), and Joshua Newth (HCAM).

Announcements:

Moore: Randi & Roxanne, April 25-27, 7:30 pm, Rust Flexible Theatre

Cropp: FM Appreciation Picnic Sponsored by Faculty Senate on Wednesday, May 1 from 12-1

pm at Facilities Management Garage Bay (610 Washington Street)

Take Away Friday: Alumni Tracking, hosted by Faculty Senate on Friday, May 3 from 12-1 pm

Murphy: Soft opening of the observatory on Thursday, April 25, 2024

Fluegge: Bangladeshi Night, Saturday, April 27, 2024, 6:30 pm, University Center

Before the meeting was adjourned, Chair Cropp told the senators that a chair is needed for the documents committee and asked if someone would be willing to be the chair.

Adjournment: Chair Cropp called for a motion to adjourn. Senator Moore made the motion; seconded by Senator Murphy. The Faculty Senate adjourned at 4:21 p.m.

The next Faculty Senate meeting will be held on Wednesday, May 1 from 3-5 pm in the Redhawks Room of the University Center.