Southeast Missouri State University

The Accrediting Council does not define specific curricula, courses or methods of instruction. It recognizes that each institution has its unique situation, mission and resources, and this uniqueness is an asset to be safeguarded.

The Council judges programs against the objectives that units and institutions set for themselves and against the nine accrediting standards that the Council sets forth for preparing students for professional careers in journalism and mass communications.

Standard 1
Mission, Governance and Administration

Standard 2
Curriculum and Instruction

Standard 3
Diversity and Inclusiveness

Standard 4
Full-time and Part-time Faculty

Standard 5
Scholarship: Research, Creative and Professional Activity

Standard 6
Student Services

Standard 7
Resources, Facilities and Equipment

Standard 8
Professional and Public Service

Standard 9
Assessment of Learning Outcomes