Southeast Missouri State University

Congrats to the 2012 Fault-Line Film Festival winners

People's Choice Award - Amanda Sachtleben, "Blind Date."

Best Comedy - Amanda Sachtleben, "Blind Date."

Best Drama - Hunter Hempen and Robert Foote, "Calignosity."

Best Mystery/Suspense - Paul Stokes, "Crossroads."

Best Animation - Jenny Martinez, "I'm Awake."

Judge's Award - Robert Spurlock, "The Wight King."

Best of Festival - Josh Friedrich, "Madison."


Friday, Nov. 2, 2012

This is the deadline for entry into the film competition.

Friday, Nov. 16, 2012

This is the big screening of all the award-winning films at 7 p.m. in Rose Theater.

The Fault-Line Film Festival

The Fault-Line Film Festival showcases the creativity and innovation of university students across Missouri through filmmaking. For the first time, regional colleges and universities will be able to participate in a new intercollegiate video competition, the Fault-Line Invitational. Student script writers, actors, video production and editing specialists are given the chance to spotlight their creative talents by competing for $4,000 in awards and prizes.

All currently enrolled University or College students in the state of Missouri are eligible to participate in the the Fault-Line Invitational. Student films can be up to 10 minutes in length and submitted in one of the following categories: Drama, Comedy, Mystery/Suspense, and Animation. A $25 entry fee is required with all entries. A faculty member must send an email to verifying the student status and that the film was produced in 2011 or 2012 for all students submitting registrations that are not currently enrolled at Southeast Missouri State University. Winning films will be screened at the Fault-Line Film Festival Gala on Friday, Nov. 16, 2012 at 7 p.m. on the campus at Southeast Missouri State University.

This event is sponsored by Department of Mass Media, Department of Theatre & Dance, Earl and Margie Holland School of Visual and Performing Arts, College of Liberal Arts, Department of Industrial and Engineering Technology and the Douglas C. Greene Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship at Southeast Missouri State University.

Fault Line Film Festival Event Information

Faultline Film Festival Guidelines

Detailed information about the Fault-Line Film Festival rules and guidelines. 

Our History

2010 marked the first year for the Fault-Line Film Festival at Southeast. Winners were announced during an awards ceremony at the Bedell Performance Hall, and screened at a film festival gala in the Rose Theatre. The student films that were screened and Fault-Line Film Festival awards given out were:

  • “Frank Live”- Best of Festival, Team: Bad Apple 
  • “We’ve Got a Problem”- Best Comedy, Team Name: Sexy Time Sexy 
  • “Clean Up”- Best Mystery/Suspense, Team: Harrison 
  • “Ecstasy of Tuco”- Judge’s Award, Team: Tuco 
  • “Bag”- Best of 48-Hour Film Frenzy, Team: Nerd Word 
  • “Clincher”- Best Drama, Team: Complex Fatz 
  • “Late”- Screening, Team: Kuthonian Productions - Won Audience Choice Award 
  • “A Living Nightmare”- Honorable Mention, Team: GM 385 
  • “Everly”- Honorable Mention, Team: Epic 
  • “A Dame in the Life of Franklin Drake”- Screening, Team: Brother Bear 
  • “Deleted Images”- Screening, Team: Slowplay

The winners of the 2011 Fault-Line Film Festival were announced during an awards ceremony at the Bedell Performance Hall, and screened at a film festival gala in the Rose Theatre on November 16. The student films that were screened and Fault-Line Film Festival awards given out included:

  • “Coming and Going”- Best of Festival, Team: Pomegranate
  • “Terrible Tides”- Best Comedy, Team Name: Kudjo Productions
  • “Lost and Found”- Best Mystery/Suspense, Team: Kurt Ehlmann Productions
  • “Achromatic”- Judge’s Award, Team: Team Colossus
  • “Shift”- Best Drama, Team: Team Birks
  • "Kreigshund" - Best Animation (Invitational) Kurt Dillow Productions
  • “Not to Run”- Honorable Mention - Drama, Team: Greenroom Productions
  • "Lies in the Night" - Honorable Mention - Drama AND Audience Choice Award, Team: Sexy Time Sexy
  • “Call Ended”- Screening, Team: Kurt Ehlmann Productions
  • “816: Cheating Satisfaction”- Screening, Team: Starry Pinecone with No Friends
  • “Mayhem”- Screening, Team: AfroThunder