Southeast Missouri State University

Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ)

Students can join the local chapter of this organization, whose membership includes professional reporters and editors in addition to Southeast faculty and journalism students. Members are dedicated to freedom of the press and the public’s “right to know.”

Society of Professional Journalists: spj.org

Like us on Facebook: SEMO SPJ 

Advisor

Jack Zibluk

Southeast Student Ad Club

The student chapter of the American Advertising Federation involves students in seminars, hands-on projects, conferences and contacts in the professional sector.

American Advertising Federation: aaf.org

Advisor

Karie Hollerbach, Grauel 104C, 573-986-6437, khollerbach@semo.edu

Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA)

PRSSA logo

The student chapter of the national Public Relations Society of America involves students with workshops, field trips and participation in promotional campaigns for campus and community organizations.

Public Relations Society of America: prsa.org

Advisor

Susan Gonders, Grauel 110A, 573-651-2486, sgonders@gmail.com

Media Communication Association-International (MCA-I)

This organization is a professional chapter involving both students and professionals interested in video and film production. Speakers and field trips give students further insight into their chosen careers. Members often assist campus and community organizations in significant video projects.

Media Communication Association-International: http://mca-i.org

Advisors

James Dufek, Grauel 205, 573-651-2484, jdufek@semo.edu
Fred Jones, Grauel 202G, 573-651-2614, fjones@semo.edu

The Arrow

This is Southeast’s national award-winning newspaper. It is one of the oldest student-run newspapers in the country. Students contribute to the newspaper beginning with their first journalism class, gaining knowledge of writing, editing and designing a weekly publication.

Visit the Arrow online: southeastArrow.com

Advisor

Tamara Buck, Grauel 104A, 573-651-2596, tbuck@semo.edu

The National Broadcasting Society/Alpha Epsilon Rho

NBSThe Southeast chapter of National Broadcasting Society (NBS) brings members and area professionals together to discuss significant trends and events occurring in the radio, television, film and online media industries. In addition to regularly scheduled chapter meetings and the prestigious NBS National Convention every spring, membership and participation in NBS offers students excellent opportunities for networking with pros. Alpha Epsilon Rho (AERho) is the national honor society within NBS and recognizes significant academic achievement in the electronic media arts.

NBS-AERho: nbs-aerho.org

Advisor

Bruce Mims, Grauel 110C, 573-651-2126, bmims@semo.edu

Rage 103.7, KDMC: "The True Alternative"

Southeast’s FM/online radio station laboratory, managed and programmed by students, offers announcing, live- and recorded-program production experiences utilizing broadcast, streaming and podcast distribution technologies.

Visit KDMC online: rage1037.com

Advisor

Bruce Mims, Grauel 110C, (573) 651-2126, bmims@semo.edu

KRCU 90.9 FM: The Region's NPR Affiliate

KRCU is the National Public Radio affiliate for the Southeast Missouri region. Students compete for staff positions in announcing, news production and promotion.

Listen to KRCU online: krcu.org

General Manager

Dan Woods, Serena Building, 573-651-5070

Riverfront PR

This organization is a student-operated public relations agency that accepts both on- and off-campus clients, providing students with experience in client relations and campaigns. It's open to both PR and Advertising students.

Advisor

Mike Simmons, GB 104B, 573-651-2976, msimmons@semo.edu

National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ)

NABJ is an association of journalists, students and media-related professionals that provides quality programs and services year-round to benefit black journalists worldwide.

Advisor

Ann White, Grauel 104F, 573-651-2419, aywhite@semo.edu

APPLY VISIT DONATE