Academic Advising Council


Charge: To facilitate coordination of advising services University-wide. The Council will make recommendations regarding areas including, but not limited to, advisor/advisee responsibilities, advisor training, advising documentation, advisee loads, a reward/recognition system for faculty and staff advisors, use of technology to improve services to students, and ensuring a uniform level of advising services for all students.
Membership: The Director of the Center for Academic Advising and Career Services; Assistant Director of Academic Advising; Coordinator of Academic Advising (North Advising Center); Operations Coordinator for Advising & Career Services; Exploratory Student Advisor; one professional staff advisor from the Colleges of Business; Education; and Science, Technology, & Agriculture; Health and Human Services; Liberal Arts; SE Online Programs; the athletics advising center; and the off-campus advising centers to serve as non-rotating members. One representative each from the offices of Admissions, New Student Programs, and Registrar to represent Enrollment Management nominated by the Vice President for Enrollment Management and Student Success & Dean of Students; one representative from the Office of Student Financial Services to be nominated by the Vice President of Finance and Administration; and one representative from International Education & Services to also serve as non-rotating members. One faculty member (who advises) from each of the five colleges to be nominated by the dean will serve a three-year appointment. (Per Faculty Handbook policy, “Faculty members who serve full terms on University Standing Committees cannot succeed themselves.). One undergraduate student nominated by the President of Student Government to serve a one-year appointment. The Council is co-chaired by the Director or Academic Advising and Career Services and the Assistant Director of Academic Advising.
Reports to: Provost
Non-Rotating Members:

N/R Michele Tapp, Director, Academic Advising and Career Services
N/R Carol Heisserer, Assistant Director of Academic Advising
N/R Amanda Eller, Coordinator of Academic Advising
N/R CJ Yerington, Operations Coordinator for Advising & Career Services
N/R Dana Daniel, Exploratory Student Advisor
N/R Mishea Culbreath, Business
N/R Karie Stroder, Education
N/R Brenda White, Health and Human Services
N/R Jessica Brethold, Liberal Arts
N/R Jean Miller, Science, Technology, and Agriculture
N/R Chelsea Caile, SE Online Programs
N/R Sharon Burgard, Athletics Advisor
N/R Karen Tucker, Southeast @ Kennett
N/R Lisa Webb, Southeast @ Malden
N/R Pauletta Burns, Southeast @ Poplar Bluff
N/R Kim Madigan, Southeast @ Sikeston
N/R Tinea Ortega, Cape Girardeau Partnership for Higher Education
N/R Dan Presson, Admissions Office - Enrollment Mgmt. & Student Success
N/R Katie Foshee, New Student Programs, Enrollment Mgmt. & Student Success
N/R Sarah Niswonger, Student Financial Services, Finance & Administration
N/R Ryan Heslinga, Registrar Office - Enrollment Mgmt. & Student Success
N/R Brooke DeArman, International Education & Services

Faculty Members:

AY 2014-2016 Kathy Smith, Liberal Arts
AY 2014-2016 Sandipan Sen, Business
AY 2015-2017 Tahsin Khalid, Education
AY 2015-2017 Jeremy Ball, Health & Human Services (to complete term)
AY 2016-2018 Kelli Gottlieb, Science, Technology, & Agriculture

Student Representative: AY 2016   Brooke Reeves
Co-Chairs: Michele Tapp and Carol Heisserer

Academic Hall 144
Office of the President
One University Plaza, MS 3300
Cape Girardeau, Missouri 63701