The size and composition of committees and councils varies according to purpose and representation.  Normally, the membership of standing committees consists of faculty members selected from the different colleges, Kent Library, and the School of Polytechnic Studies, and persons from other University affiliations or assignments (i.e. administration, students, and employee groups).  All committee chairpersons file at least one report annually to the responsible administrator(s).  The Research Involving Human Subjects Committee and the University Promotion and Sabbatical Leave Committee are defined in specifically approved policies.