Institutional Review Board

Charge: To maintain familiarity with federal guidelines concerning the use of human participants in research; to review and recommend appropriate changes in institutional policies and procedures concerning the use human participants in research; to review and make recommendations concerning proposed use of human participants in research at the institution; to ensure appropriate steps are taken to protect the rights and welfare of human participants in research; to maintain awareness of federal guidelines, policies and federal compliance.Recommendations are to be made to the Provost.
Reports to: Provost Co-Chairs: Chuck McAllister & John Kraemer


Membership: Faculty members to be appointed by the Provost, as described in the Operational Policy for Research Involving Human Subjects. (Per Faculty Handbook policy, "Faculty members who serve full terms on University Standing Committees cannot succeed themselves.")

Non-Rotating Members

N/R Chuck McAllister
Dean of the School of Graduate Studies
N/R John Kraemer
Administrative Liaison
N/R Pamela Vargas
Director, Office of Research & Grant Development

Faculty Members

AY 2015-2017 (vacant)
Health and Human Services
AY 2015-2017 Candide Walton
Science, Technology & Agriculture
AY 2016-2018 Christine Ladwig
AY 2016-2018 Paul Watkins
AY 2016-2018 Justin Miller
Liberal Arts

Community Representative

John Mackel

Other Members

AY 2014-2016 Jennifer Bengtson
Faculty Senate
AY 2014-2016 Randy Carter
Enrollment Management & Student Success
AY 2015-2017 Morris Jenkins
Council of Deans
AY 2015-2017 Andy Fulkerson
Graduate Faculty

Academic Hall 144
Office of the President
One University Plaza, MS 3300
Cape Girardeau, Missouri 63701