university studies council

Charge: All policy matters affecting the University Studies program and all proposals for new courses or changes in the treatment of the University Studies Objectives in existing courses.  The Council also advises the Dean of the School of University Studies concerning matters affecting the quality and development of the program, resource allocations, and review and assessment procedures.  The Dean of the School of University Studies chairs the Council.
Reports to: Dean of the School of Unviersity Studies Chair: Wayne Bowen, Director of University Studies


Composed of two faculty representatives elected by each college council. (Per Faculty Handbook policy, "Faculty members who serve full terms on University Standing Committees cannot succeed themselves.) One representative elected by each of the following: the Library faculty, Enrollment Management, and two representatives elected by Student Government. Faculty serve three-year terms and the Enrollment Management and student representatives serve one-year terms. Non-rotating members are the Dean of the School of University Studies and the Registrar.

Non-Rotating Members

N/R Frank Barrios
Dean, School of University Studies
N/R Sandy Hinkle
N/R Wayne Bowen
Director of University Studies

Faculty Members

AY 2016-2019 Claudia Ruediger
Kent Library
AY 2013-2018 John Cherry
AY 2014-2017 Rachel Morgan Theall
Science, Technology, & Agriculture
AY 2014-2017 Lori Mueller
AY 2016-2019 Jason Wagganer
College of Health and Human Services
AY 2015-2018 Pamela Mills
College of Science, Technology & Agriculture
AY 2015-2018 Albert Hayward
College of Liberal Arts
AY 2015-2018 Susan Davis
College of Education
AY 2016-2018 Toni Alexander
College of Liberal Arts
AY 2016-2018 Kathie Miller
College of Health & Human Services
AY 2016-2018 Robin Smith
College of Education

Enrollment Management & Student Success

AY 2015-2017 Trent Ball

Academic Hall 144
Office of the President
One University Plaza, MS 3300
Cape Girardeau, Missouri 63701