Strategic Enrollment Management (SEM) Committee


Charge To develop, review, and assess progress towards strategic enrollment management goals and objectives related to the size, quality and diversity of the student body; recruitment; and retention and persistence.
Membership: All members are appointed by the Vice President for Enrollment Management and Student Success. The committee is supported by three subcommittees: the Enrollment Development Team, the Financial Aid and Scholarship Review Subcommittee and the Retention Subcommittee. Subcommittee members are appointed by the Vice President for Enrollment Management and Student Success. (Per Faculty Handbook policy, "Faculty members who serve full terms on University Standing Committees cannot succeed themselves.)
Reports to: Vice President for Enrollment Management & Student Success
Members Appointed by the Vice President for Enrollment Management and Student Success:

N/R Zahir Ahmed - Executive Dir., International Education & Services
N/R Kang Bai – Assistant Provost for Institutional Research & Academic Assessment
N/R Trent Ball - Associate Dean of Students, Educational Access Programs
N/R Brady Barke - Associate to the President
N/R Debbie Below - VP for Enrollment Management and Student Success
N/R Jim Essner – Budget and Enrollment Analyst
N/R Allen Gathman - Dean for Online and Extended Learning
N/R Lenell Hahn – Director of Admissions
N/R Jeff Harmon - Executive Dir., Communications and Marketing
N/R Sandy Hinkle – Registrar
N/R Kathy Mangels - Vice President for Finance and Administration
N/R Charles McAllister - Vice Provost and Dean of Graduate Studies
N/R Gerry McDougall - Associate Provost, Extended and Online Learning/Dean, Harrison Col. of Business
N/R Karen Walker - Director of Financial Aid
FY 2015-2016 Debbie Lee-Distefano - Faculty Member At-Large
FY 2015-2016 Timothy Schmidt - Faculty Senate Representative

Chair: Debbie Below


SEM - Enrollment Development Team (EDT)

Charge Support the University's strategic enrollment management goals through collaborative, customer-friendly student enrollment procedures and processes.

Zahir Ahmed - Executive Director of International Education & Services
Debbie Below - Associate VP for Enrollment Mgmt/Dir. of Admissions
Gwen Duncan - Residence Life Coordinator
Chelsea Caile - Coordinator of Southeast Online
Lenell Hahn - Associate Director of Admissions
Katie Krodinger - Assistant Director of Admissions for New Student Programs
Sandy Hinkle - Registrar
Verona Lambert - Director of Student Accounts
Kim Madigan - Advising Coordinator, Sikeston Campus
Alisa McFerron - Assistant Director of Admissions for Operations
Bruce Skinner - Director of Residence Life
Karen Walker - Director of Financial Aid
Jeremy McBroom - Director of Military and Veterans Services
Michele Tapp - Director of Academic and Career Advising


SEM - Financial Aid and Scholarship Subcommittee

Charge Recommend data-driven strategies to effectively use financial aid and scholarship resources to support the university's strategic enrollment management goals.

Debbie Below - Associate VP for Enrollment Mgmt/Dir. of Admissions
Susan Burton - University Foundation
Lenell Hahn - Associate Director of Admissions
Verona Lambert - Director of Student Accounts
Karen Walker - Director of Financial Aid
Sue Wilde - Director of the Budget Office


SEM - Retention Subcommittee


Document, review, and assess the current retention focused plans and activities occurring across the campus community; Analyze existing retention data and the institutional policies and procedures that influence student persistence; and Develop systemic, sustainable strategies and practices to be implemented that will increase student persistence in support of the university's student retention, completion and strategic enrollment management goals. 

The committee's recommendations will be shared with the Council of Deans and Administrative Council for consideration and action.  Adopted recommendations will be reviewed by the committee to evaluate the impact on student retention. 

The committee is a subcommittee of the Strategic Enrollment Management (SEM) Committee.

Membership:    Appointed by the Vice President for Enrollment Management & Student Success and approved by the President and Provost         

Chelsea Caile, Coordinator, Southeast Online Advising
Gwen Duncan, Coordinator, Residence Life
Amanda Eller, Advising Coordinator, Special Programs/Services
Sean Spinks, Retention Coordinator
Shelly Hale, Institutional Research
Carol Heisserer, Senior Coordinator, Academic & Career Advising
Jeremy McBroom, Director, Military & Veterans Services
Verona Lambert, Director, Student Accounts
Jean Miller, Advising Coordinator
Diana Rogers-Adkinson, Dean, College of Education
Michele Tapp, Director, Academic & Career Advising
Karen Walker, Director, Financial Aid
Breanna Walling, Director, Intensive English Programs
Valdis Zalite, Director, Student Support Services
John Cherry, College of Business (Extended & Online Learning)Bill Bratberg, College of Education
Beverly Evans, College of Health & Human Services
Gail Overby, College of Liberal Arts & University Studies
Craig Roberts, College of Science, Technology & Agriculture
Cheryl McAllister, College of Science, Technology & Agriculture(Representative), Intercollegiate Athletics
Benny Dorris, Student Government 


Associate Dean of Students and Director of Student Retention

Academic Hall 144
Office of the President
One University Plaza, MS 3300
Cape Girardeau, Missouri 63701