University Academic Council


Charge: To review the administration of academic programs, suggest planning and budgeting actions, and advise the Provost of proposed changes in academic programs.
Membership: Non-rotating members are the Provost, the Vice Provost, Dean of the School of Graduate Studies, college and Kent Library deans, the Dean of the School of University Studies, the Dean of Online Learning, the Registrar, and Director of School of Visual and Performing Arts. One faculty member is elected from each college/school/library and serves a three-year term. (Per Faculty Handbook policy, “Faculty members who serve full terms on University Standing Committees cannot succeed themselves.) The Chairperson of the Faculty Senate Academic Affairs Committee serves a one-year term. The chair and members are appointed by the Provost.
Reports to: Provost
Non-Rotating Members:

N/R Gerald McDougall, Interim Provost, Associate Provost for Extended Learning
N/R Chuck McAllister, Vice Provost
N/R Gary Johnson, Interim Dean, College of Business
N/R Diana Rogers-Adkinson, Dean, Education
N/R Morris Jenkins, Dean, Health and Human Services
N/R Frank Barrios, Dean, Liberal Arts, and Dean of University Studies
N/R Chris McGowan, Dean, Science, Technology, & Agriculture
N/R Allen Gathman, Dean, Online Learning
N/R Cathy Roeder, Interim Director of Kent Library, and Interim Dean of Academic Information Services
N/R Sandy Hinkle, Registrar
N/R Rhonda Weller-Stilson, Director, Visual & Performing Arts

Faculty Senate Member: AY 2016 Roberta Humphrey, Faculty Senate Academic Affairs Committee
Faculty Members:

AY 2014-2016 Dan Daly, Science, Technology, & Agriculture
AY 2014-2016 Jeremy Barnes, Health and Human Services
AY 2014-2016 Karl Suhr, Kent Library
AY 2016-2018 Alisha Youngblood Ortiz, Business
AY 2016-2018 Bill Bratberg, Education
AY 2016-2018 Susan Kendrick, Liberal Arts

Chair: Gerald McDougall

Academic Hall 144
Office of the President
One University Plaza, MS 3300
Cape Girardeau, Missouri 63701