University Equity Issues Committee


To assist in the implementation, monitoring, and review of equity policies and procedures.


Faculty members, one from each college, and Kent Library, to be nominated by the Faculty Senate Membership Committee, will serve 3-year appointments. (Per Faculty Handbook policy, “Faculty members who serve full terms on University Standing Committees cannot succeed themselves.) One student member is nominated by the President of Student Government and appointed by the President for a one-year term. Representatives from the Professional Staff Council and CTS Staff Council are nominated by the Councils and appointed by the President for one-year terms. Other members are appointed by the President and are non-rotating members.

Reports to


Faculty Members

AY 2015-2017  Tahsin Khalid, Education
AY 2015-2017  Laurie Overmann, Science, Technology & Agriculture
AY 2015-2017  Pam Gershuny, Business
AY 2013-2016 Kathy Ham, Health & Human Services
AY 2012-2015  (Vacant), Kent Library
AY 2012-2015  Scott Brandhorst, Liberal Arts

Student Representative

AY 2015  Austin Cordell

Professional Staff Council Representative

AY 2015  Eric Redinger

CTS Staff Council Representative

AY 2015  Christine Beardslee

Other Members to be Appointed by the President

N/R   Jim Cook, Director, Human Resources
N/R   Debbie Below, Dean of Students
N/R   (Vacant), Diversity/Title IX Coordinator (Title Not Finalized)


Susan Swartwout