Full Water Service Restored at Southeast

Southeast Missouri State University

Automobile

Q: Whom should I call if I have an accident in a university-owned vehicle?

If it is a university-owned vehicle, call Risk Management at 986-6840 and provide details of the accident and the current status of the vehicle within 24 hours. Also, the Department of Public Safety (DPS) must be notified at 651-2215 and an accident report completed. DPS will forward a copy of the report to the RM office. If the accident occurs off-campus, a copy of the attending police report should be forwarded to RM at mail-stop 4825. RM will then handle the claims process.

Q: Whom should I call if I have an accident in a rental vehicle?

Call the vehicle rental agency and Risk Management at 986-6840, and provide details of the accident and the current status of the vehicle within 24 hours. Also, the Department of Public Safety (DPS) must be notified at 651-2215 and an accident report completed. DPS will forward a copy of the report to the RM office. If the accident occurs off-campus, a copy of the attending police report should be forwarded to RM at mail-stop 4825. RM will then handle the claims process.

Liability Waivers

Q: When is a signature of a parent or legal guardian required on a liability release form?

If the participant is under the age of 18 years old.

Q: How do I know which liability release form to use?

Choose the form that best fits the activity. If you have any question please call RM at 986-6840. (Forms are available on the Focus Areas page.)

Q: Who should keep the liability release forms after they are signed?

The supervisor of the activity should keep the original document in his or her files.

Q: Do I need to purchase Professional Liability Insurance if I am on the University's Faculty or Staff?

No. For University-related work activities, the faculty and staff are provided professional liability coverage through the Missouri Legal Expense Fund. Purchasing an insurance policy through a private provider is therefore not necessary for University employees. However, those students that are participating in educational programs that require professional liability insurance for their internship or practicum must purchase an adequate amount of insurance as specified in their program of study.

Occupational Safety and Environmental Health

Q: What should I do if I have some chemical waste materials that need to be disposed of?

The University’s chemical waste disposal is regulated under state and federal environmental laws. In order to comply with those laws, Risk Management has developed a Waste Disposal Guide that is available online. University faculty and staff should review the waste disposal guide and follow the procedures for proper labeling and containerization of wastes. Risk Management will provide for the pickup and disposal of the materials.

Q: How do I know if my chemical waste material is a “hazardous waste”?

Environmental laws define “hazardous waste” within fairly stringent guidelines. If you have a chemical waste material that should be disposed of, contact Risk Management at 573-986-6840 for assistance in making that determination.

Q: How long can I store chemical waste materials before calling Risk Management for a waste pickup?

All University departments are encouraged to contact Risk Management as soon as possible for waste pickups. The materials are stored in a centralized, controlled environment until the waste vendor arrives at scheduled intervals.

Q: What should I do in the event of a hazardous materials spill?

Notify people in the building or vicinity of the spill and evacuate as necessary. Immediately call the Department of Public Safety (DPS) at 573-651-2215, or dial 911. The University’s Emergency Response Team will be contacted and respond to the incident. The Integrated Contingency Plan (ICP) contains the University’s response plan for hazardous materials spills.

APPLY VISIT DONATE