Southeast Missouri State University

Class A Certification

ALL CLASSES CAN NOW BE TAKEN AS PART OF A FOUR YEAR DEGREE PROGRAM EARNING THE STUDENT 24 CREDIT HOURS.  STUDENTS MAY QUALIFY FOR FINANICAL AID AS WELL.  For more information on financial options click here. 

TO BE ELIGIBLE FOR FINANCIAL AID AND COLLEGE CREDIT, YOU MUST APPLY FOR ADMISSION TO BOTH THE UNIVERSITYAND THE ACADEMY.

The Class A Certification is issued by the State of Missouri upon completion of a minimum of 600 hours of training at an approved law enforcement training academy.  Our Class A Law Enforcement Academy Course includes the state curricula with 120 additional hours of training in area of Patrol Rifle, Radar, TASER, Hostage Negotiation, and Datamaster Instrument training.  Our Class A course is offered in two formats:

  • The weekday class lasts for 18 weeks which run Monday through Friday 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.  Classes begin in January and August of each year. 
  • The weekend class is held at the Kennett, Mo campus and is approximately ten months long.   This class meets every Friday night 6 p.m.-10 p.m.; each Saturday, 8 a.m.-5 p.m.; and each Sunday, 8 a.m. until 5 p.m.  Classes begin in January of each year. 
    It is essential that you dictate on your academy application whether or not you are going to take the academy for college credit or for no college credit.  You can NOT get the college credit retroactively.  You must sign up for this in advance.

Tutition covers all books, ammunition, uniforms, and exam fees.  A $100 application fee is required upon registration for the academy.  Students will also be required to use the current state vendor for fingerprinting costing approximately $48.00.  For students who don't own a handgun, an Academy handgun is available for rent during range training.  The rental fee is $50.00.

 

Requirements
Application

APPLY VISIT DONATE